Canal Lisboa pages are only available in Portuguese

X
1
2
3
4

The National Coach Museum opened at the old riding ring of the Palace of Belém on the 23rd of May, 1905. It was created by Queen D. Amélia of Orleães and Bragança (the wife of king D. Carlos) as a way to preserve the important collection of vehicles belonging to the Royal House. The museum houses a unique collection in the world consisting of vehicles from the 17th, 18th and 19th centuries including coaches, berlins, sedan chairs and carriages – all of which are decorated in a rich and profuse style. This makes it the most visited museum in Lisbon, if not in the whole of Portugal. To commemorate its 110th anniversary, the museum was transferred to a brand new building designed by the Brazilian architect Paulo Mendes da Rocha. The New Coach Museum, inaugurated on the 23rd of May 2015, is yet another reason to visit this wonderful collection.


Traveller Rating: Based on 1167 reviews

TripAdvisor review unavailable

Are you a representative of National Coach Museum?
Respond to Reviews

Please be advised that any comments, opinions and statements submitted herewith are entirely independent and do not represent views held by, or are in any way connected to visitlisboa.com

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating
Based on 1167 reviews

Details


ADD TO FAVORITES REMOVE FROM FAVORITES